

HUNT COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT

P.O. BOX 1339 4801 KING STREET GREENVILLE, TEXAS 75403-1339 (903) 454-3510 FAX (903) 454-4160 www.hunt-cad.org

at Oo o'clock N

OCT 11 2023

BECKY LANDRUM
County Clerk Flunt County, Tex.

September 15, 2023

Hunt County Judge Bobby Stovall PO Box 1097 Greenville, Texas 75403-1097

Dear Judge Stovall,

Senate Bill 2 of the second called special session of the 88th Texas Legislature makes significant changes to the composition of the Hunt CAD Board of Directors. Beginning in 2024, the board must consist of nine (9) members as follows:

- 5 members appointed by the taxing units
- 3 members elected at a general election (first election held May, 2024)
- 1 tax assessor/collector as ex officio member

Because the current board consists of seven (7) members appointed by the taxing units, the board has passed a resolution to reduce the size to five (5) appointed members beginning January 1, 2024, to comply with the new law. Therefore, each taxing unit will only be able to nominate up to five (5) nominees this year and will vote on five (5) members as opposed to seven (7).

Each taxing entity may nominate up to five (5) candidates. Nominations must be by resolution adopted by the governing body of the entity. The names of the nominees must be submitted to the chief appraiser **ON OR BEFORE OCTOBER 15, 2023.** Any nominations received after this date cannot be accepted.

Once all nominations have been submitted and prior to October 30, 2023, the appraisal district will mail you a ballot listing each candidate alphabetically. At that time, the governing body may cast its votes by resolution and submit the resolution to the chief appraiser before December 15, 2023. The governing body may cast all its votes for one candidate or may distribute their votes among any number of candidates.

Attached is a listing of the taxing entities within Hunt County who are eligible to participate in this election along with their entitled number of votes.

To be eligible to serve as a director, an individual must be a resident of the county and must have resided in the county for two years. An employee of a taxing unit within Hunt County is not eligible to serve <u>unless</u> that person is also a member of the governing body or is an elected official of a taxing unit within the county.

Please submit your nominee(s) by resolution on or before October 15, 2023.

NOMINATIONS MUST BE SUBMITED BY RESOLUTION

Sample resolution attached

The present members of the Board of Directors are:

Tyson Cox Jim Bob Grove Mitch Moore Paul Painter Steven Stone Mike Taylor

Howard Winans

Thank you for your participation in this process.

Sincerely,

Brent South Chief Appraiser Hunt County Appraisal District

| Taxing Unit | Number of Votes |
|-----------------------|-----------------|
| City of Campbell | 5 |
| City of Celeste | 5 |
| City of Caddo Mills | 55 |
| City of Commerce | 110 |
| City of Greenville | 470 |
| City of Hawk Cove | 5 |
| City of Lone Oak | 5 |
| City of Quinlan | 15 |
| City of Wolfe City | 10 |
| City of West Tawakoni | 15 |
| Hunt County | 1070 |
| Trinity Valley CC | 5 |
| Boles ISD | 15 |
| Bland ISD | 100 |
| Campbell ISD | 40 |
| Celeste ISD | 70 |
| Caddo Mills ISD | 450 |
| Commerce ISD | 295 |
| Cumby ISD | 5 |
| Greenville ISD | 1090 |
| Lone Oak ISD | 155 |
| Quinlan ISD | 435 |
| Wolfe City ISD | 65 |
| City of Josephine | 5 |
| City of Royse City | 50 |
| Cooper ISD | 5 |
| Community ISD | 10 |
| Fannindel ISD | 5 |
| Leonard ISD | 10 |
| Royse City ISD | 375 |
| Terrell ISD | 50 |
| | 5000 |

,

OCT 11 2023

RESOLUTION NO. 18,420 - 2

BECKY LANDRUM
County Clerk County, Tex.

A RESOLUTION OF THE HUNT COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT, NOMINATING A CANDIDATE(S) TO THE HUNT COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS; AND SETTING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, Section 6.03 of the Property Tax Code, Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated, provides that the governing body of each taxing unit in the county shall nominate up to five candidates to serve a two-year term on the Board of Directors of the Hunt County Appraisal District; and

WHEREAS, the candidate must be a resident of the District and must have resided in the district for at least two years.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMISSIONERS COURT OF THE HUNT COUNTY, THAT:

SECTION 1. The following candidate(s) are nominated to be considered for positions on the Hunt County Appraisal District Board of Directors: Tyson Cox, Jim Bob Grove, Paul Painter, Steve Stone, mike Taylor

PASSED AND APPROVED, this the Of day of October, 2023.

Mutho

County Jud

Commissioner, Precinct 1

Commissioner, Precinct 3

Commissioner, Precinct/2

Commissioner, Precinct 4

ATTEST:

County Clerk